Kitchen Tip: The Perfect Hard-Boiled Egg

In my search to produce the perfect hard-boiled egg for Easter, I spent some time on Pinterest looking at different articles. Usually my eggs turn out difficult to peel with that unattractive green ring around the yolk. Not very appetizing.

I discovered that there are many thoughts on what produces the perfect hard-boiled egg. Which method would I choose? Since I typically bring the eggs to a boil, then cover and let sit for 15 minutes, I knew I wanted to try a different technique. Baking them in muffin pans seemed intriguing – until I read this post about steaming your eggs in a steamer.

This line is what caught my attention: “The steam penetrates the shell a bit making the eggs easier to peel.” Makes sense, right?


hard-boiled eggs steamed

Here’s how I finally achieved the perfect hard-boiled egg:

What you’ll need:

  • Up to 1 dozen eggs. Use pastured eggs whenever possible. I like Vital Farms eggs, available at my local Wegmans. This recipe works for 1 to 12 eggs. After 12 eggs, your eggs will be too crowded, which defeats the steaming process.
  • Large pot with steamer basket and lid
  • Large bowl for ice bath to stop the cooking process
  • Large slotted spoon

What to do:

  • Fill a pot that can accommodate a steamer basket with water until the steamer basket is just touching the water. Remove the steamer basket and bring water to a rolling boil.
  • Add eggs to your steamer basket and very carefully return steamer basket to pot. Cover and set timer for 15 minutes.
  • Prepare a water bath filled with ice
  • After 15 minutes, turn off heat.
  • Using a slotted spoon, place your eggs one by one in the water bath, being careful not to break any of the shells.
  • Once cooled, pat dry and store in the refrigerator for up to one week.

steamed hard-boiled eggs


Sharon Lawrence, RDNSharon’s Nutrition Advice:
Eggs are an excellent choice of protein for rebuilding strong bones, muscles, and tissues, maintaining a vibrant immune system, and supporting healthy hair, skin, and nails!

 


Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

