Miso Dressing – Recipe Post

12705410_1519760194996444_2925051103631355470_n

As I mentioned on Facebook this week, years ago I had the most delicious miso dressing from a restaurant called The Juicery in Buffalo, NY. I loved this miso dressing so much that I scoured the internet for a good copycat recipe so I could make it at home.

(Miso is a fermented and living food filled with  beneficial probiotics. You can learn more about the nutritional value and health benefits of miso here, here, and here.)

I was able to find a great recipe and made a few adjustments to scale it down. I substituted olive oil or avocado oil and used coconut aminos, a much lower sodium option. The dressing turned out great, but it required a decent amount of ingredients that I didn’t always have on-hand.


So…I decided to solve the problem by trying to make a few different variations of miso dressing on my own that wouldn’t require as many ingredients. After enlisting the help of some friends for taste-testing, I’ve declared this one a keeper!

What you’ll need:

  • 1 cup olive oil or avocado oil
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup white miso
  • 6 tbsp. white balsamic vinegar
  • 3 tbsp. coconut sugar
  • 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup chopped green onion (to taste)

miso dressing ingredients

 

To make:

Add all ingredients to a blender or food processor. Process for a few minutes to be sure the miso is completely smooth. Add green onions to taste and process a bit more.

miso dressing

Here is what your finished product should look like! I like to pair mine with fresh, nutritious greens, sliced cucumbers, and a serving of tuna. The dressing also works great as a veggie dip and as a glaze for chicken or fish.

 

Enjoy! 

3 thoughts on “Miso Dressing – Recipe Post

Leave a Reply

